Kim Yuna coverage in ISU Cup of China 2008/2009

6 Nov

The event is held in Beijing Capital Gymnasium from 6th to 9th November 2008. This is the 3rd event of the ISU Grand Prix of Figure Skating.

Kim Yuna had won her first gold in the Grand Prix after finishing first in Skate America 2 weeks before, and she went to ISU Cup of China season 2008/2009 today as the defending champion.

Kim Yuna scored 63.64 after her short program, leading the competition with only 5 points higher than Miki Ando from Japan, who finishes second while Laura Lepisto finished third.

Here is the result…

Yuna was the 8th person to skate and even though I did not watch her skate LIVE, I can imagine that today’s performance wasn’t as good as in last Skate America, because her points was lower. I wonder what happened.

She scored 69.50 after her short program in Everett, so her lower score in this event worries me. I just hope she did not fall. As a biomechanist, I know how fatal it can be if an athlete fall instead of landing safely. XD

I had heard that the ice condition wasn’t that great, I hope this problem is overcome for the safety of the skaters competing in this event.

Yuna will perform her free skate program on 8th November at 4.00 p.m. (local time) in Beijing. It would be 6.00 a.m. over here, and it is against the odds I’m going to watch it.

Anyhow! I hope Yuna can beat her own personal best in free skating and set the world record again.

Go Yuna!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

